Since it was created in 1986 and even well before this date if we take into account the fact that IGN FI was previously IGN’s international department, IGN accompanies its clients in working on their geomatic projects. Its work philosophy and values have remained the same throughout the years: IGN FI’s work is part of long-term skills transfer projects set up for requesting countries


Our values

Excellence and quality

IGN FI proposes a range of in-company experts to its clients as well as calling on reference experts, each in their field of intervention. Experts in photogrammetry, geodetics and mapping as well as surveyors, analysts, developers, economists, experts in agronomy, geology and hydrology are all consulted according to the specific inherent requirements of each project issue.

Ethics and reliability

IGN FI advocates providing independent technical solutions and takes into account each client’s technical, organizational and financial constraints. The methodology and solutions proposed are always developed in respect of the clients’ specific requests and with regard to the type of project to be undertaken.

Commitment

IGN FI supports each of its clients from the planning stage of their projects up to its execution, all in strict respect of the commitments made and with the greatest confidentiality. The company is committed to working closely with its clients and uses its network of representatives in many countries to implement tailored, long-term solutions. IGN FI has been supporting the development of several partner countries for over 30 years.

Complementary expertise

IGN FI is currently working in several countries, with on-going projects and a vast network of private and institutional partners. These synergies enable the company to best reply to the requests made by clients and to find the most coherent technical solutions for each project challenge.

 


History

In 1940, the Army’s Geographical Unit, created in 1887, became the Institute of National Geography (IGN), a department of the Ministry for Public Works.

In 1967, IGN became a public administrative body of the State. Its main mission was to create and maintain the geographic reference databases required by the State.

IGN’s overseas work, as it was set out in decree 1402 dating from June 7th 1944 and confirmed in an order issued on February 19th 1947, was to perform “geodesic, topographic and mapping projects of general interest in the overseas territories governed by the Naval Secretary of State and French colonies and to manage all of its branches and local departments (named ‘Colonial Geographic Departments’) as well as temporary assignments sent from the metropolis.

Before the era of independence, IGN managed the local ‘branches’ and logistical bases in Hanoi (as well as Saigon and Dalat), Tananarive, Yaoundé, Brazzaville, Bamako, Niamey, Dakar, Abidjan, Bangui, Rabat and Alger.

Changes in the political context meant that a mapping project covering the entire Far East could not be finished, unlike the project for Africa, where IGN’s cartographic coverage constitutes a real heritage. Maps with comprehensive coverage were produced at a scale of 1:200,000 and others with significant coverage at 1:50,000, although coverage of countries with larger surface areas was only partial. The corresponding photographic coverage was also provided.

IGN has maintained relations with each of these countries outside the context of their independence; continuing to work with them on projects to update information, free henceforth from their colonial legacy.

Originally a department within IGN, IGN FI was externalised in 1986 and the company was created with IGN remaining its major stakeholder.

IGN FI, part of the GEOFIT group since 2015, is the technical operator for IGN France in implementing its projects.


Coming up next

About IGN FI

A company known for its skills in geographical information and its innovative approach to managing and using geospatial data, IGN FI is entirely dedicated to ex... Read more

Our teams

IGN FI has 27 employees at present. The company’s head office is in Paris but many temporary local offices have been set up in order to bring our teams closer... Read more

IGN FI worldwide

Based in Paris, 100% active in export, IGN FI is a global company. It can intervene anywhere in the world. For the achievement of its projects, IGN FI relies on... Read more

Our projects

For over 30 years, IGN FI has intervened in all the corners of the globe. In Africa, of course, but also in Eastern Europe, in Asia, in Middle-East, in Southern... Read more

Depuis sa création en 1986, et même bien auparavant si l’on considère qu’avant cette date IGN FI était le département international de l’IGN, IGN FI accompagne ses clients dans leurs projets géomatiques. Sa philosophie de travail, ses valeurs ont traversé les années : l’action d’IGN FI s’inscrit dans des projets pérennes réalisés en transfert de compétences au bénéfice des pays qui les initient.


Valeurs

EXCELLENCE ET QUALITÉ

IGN FI met à la disposition de ses clients les profils d’excellence dont elle dispose en interne et elle mobilise aussi des experts référents dans leur domaine d’intervention. Photogrammètres, géodésiens, géomètres, cartographes, mais également analystes, développeurs, économistes, agronomes, géologues, hydrologues sont sollicités en fonction des nécessités spécifiques inhérentes à chaque problématique.

ÉTHIQUE ET FIABILITÉ

IGN FI revendique l’indépendance des solutions techniques préconisées et prend en compte les contraintes techniques, organisationnelles et financières du client. Les méthodologies et les solutions proposées sont toujours élaborées dans le respect de la demande spécifique du client, en prenant en compte la nature du projet à entreprendre.

ENGAGEMENT

IGN FI accompagne chaque client de la planification à la réalisation de ses projets dans le strict respect des engagements pris et dans la plus grande confidentialité. A travers un réseau de représentants dans de nombreux pays, elle s’engage au plus près de ses clients pour mettre en œuvre des solutions pérennes et adaptées. IGN FI accompagne depuis plus de 30 ans le développement de plusieurs pays partenaires.

COMPLEMENTARITÉ DES EXPERTISES

IGN FI est actuellement active dans de nombreux pays, à travers des projets en cours et un vaste réseau de partenaires privés et institutionnels. Ce sont précisément ces synergies qui permettent à IGN FI de répondre au mieux aux demandes qui lui sont faites et d’apporter pour chaque problématique, la réponse technique la plus pertinente.

 


Histoire

En 1940, le Service Géographique de l’Armée, créé en 1887, est devenu l’Institut Géographique National (IGN), service du Ministère des Travaux Publics.

En 1967, l’IGN devient un établissement public administratif de l’État. Sa principale mission : établir et entretenir les bases de données géographiques de référence dont l’État a besoin.

L’activité outre-mer de l’IGN décrite dans le décret 1402 du 7 juin 1944 et confirmée par l’arrêté du 19 février 1947, souligne la mission de l’IGN de réaliser « les travaux géodésiques, topographiques et cartographiques d’intérêt général dans les territoires d’outre‐mer relevant du secrétariat d’Etat à la marine et aux colonies » et de gérer l’ensemble de ses annexes et services locaux (dénommés « services géographiques coloniaux ») renforcés par des missions temporaires envoyées de métropole.

Avant la date des indépendances, l’IGN gérait des « annexes » locales et des bases logistiques à Hanoi (puis Saïgon et Dalat), Tananarive, Yaoundé, Brazzaville, Bamako, Niamey, Dakar, Abidjan, Bangui, Rabat et Alger.

L’évolution de la situation politique n’a pas permis d’achever la production d’une cartographie complète en Extrême-Orient, contrairement à l’Afrique où l’IGN a laissé en héritage une couverture cartographique complète au 1:200.000 et une couverture significative au 1:50.000, bien que partielle pour les pays de plus grande étendue, ainsi que les couvertures photographiques correspondantes.

Au‐delà des indépendances, l’IGN a poursuivi des relations avec chacun de ces pays en continuant à y travailler dans un cadre de travail renouvelé, libéré cette fois de l’héritage colonial.

Intégrée jusqu’en 1986 comme un département de l’IGN, IGN FI est externalisée et créée à cette date, l’IGN restant actionnaire majoritaire de la structure.

Société de GEOFIT Group depuis 2015, IGN FI est l’opérateur technique de l’IGN à l’international.


A suivre

IGN FI, en bref

100% active à l’export, IGN FI est un acteur reconnu pour ses compétences en matière d’information géographique et pour son approche novatrice dans la gestion et l’utilisation des données géospatiales.Lire la suite Lire la suite

Nos équipes

IGN FI emploie, actuellement, 27 personnes. Le siège social d’IGN FI est basé à Paris. Des implantations locales temporaires sont créés afin d’être plus proche du client durant la réalisation des projets.Lire la suite Lire la suite

Présence mondiale

Basée à Paris, et avec 100% de ses activités à l’international, IGN FI est une entreprise mondiale. Elle peut en effet intervenir partout dans le monde. Pour la réalisation de ses projets, elle s’appuie sur les structures nationales impliquées dans les problématiques de cartographie et s’appuie sur de solides réseaux de partenaires commerciaux et techniques.Lire la suite Lire la suite

Nos projets

Depuis 30 ans, IGN FI est intervenue aux 4 coins du globe. En Afrique, bien sûr, mais aussi en Europe de l’Est, en Asie, au Moyen-Orient, en Amérique du Sud. Découvrez quelques-unes de nos références.Lire la suite Lire la suite