7 June, Africa celebrates its borders

7 June, Africa celebrates its borders

African borders will be in the limelight this Friday, 7 June, on African Borders Day. The aim of this day, which will be observed in several countries throughout the continent, is to raise awareness among African Union member states and their populations of the political, economic and human stakes represented Continue reading

Coastal Erosion studies and mitigation

Coastal Erosion studies and mitigation

An international consortium of public agencies: the British Geological Survey (U.K.); IHCantabria (Spain) and Geological Survey Ireland (Ireland) and companies: ARGANS (U.K.); isardSAT (Spain); adwäisEO (Luxembourg); Arctus (Canada) and IGN FI (France) – led by ARGANS (UK), has won a major project funded by the European Space Agency (ESA) to develop Continue reading

TELECOMMUNICATION: a GIS to avoid white areas

TELECOMMUNICATION: a GIS to avoid white areas

The company grouping made up of IGN FI/ PROGRESYS/ INC has been selected to create an exhaustive list of localities throughout Gabon which will be entitled to receive the universal electronic communications service. The government of Gabon wishes to provide access to basic electronic communication services for people in geographically remote Continue reading

Benin now has an up-to-date national map

Benin now has an up-to-date national map

In October 2014 IGN FI was awarded a contract to carry out digital mapping of the entire country of Benin at a scale of 1:50,000. Apart from a very few exceptions, the cartography of Benin had never been updated since the country gained its independence. The project to update Benin’s national Continue reading

Ethiopia: Training and technical advising for EGII

Ethiopia: Training and technical advising for EGII

IGN FI travelled to Addis Ababa to give a training course to the Ethiopian Geospatial Information Institute (EGII) teams on how remote sensing can contribute to land cover projects. This training course falls within the terms of a framework cooperation agreement concluded between CNES/EGII (formerly EMA, the Ethiopian Mapping Agency) and Continue reading

Le 7 Juin, l’Afrique met ses frontières à l’honneur

Le 7 Juin, l’Afrique met ses frontières à l’honneur

Les frontières africaines seront mises à l’honneur ce vendredi 7 juin 2019, à l’occasion de la Journée Africaine des Frontières. Cette journée, célébrée dans plusieurs pays du continent, a pour objectif de sensibiliser les États membres de l’Union Africaine ainsi que leurs populations aux enjeux politiques, économiques et humains qui Lire la suite

Érosion côtière et mesures d’atténuation

Érosion côtière et mesures d’atténuation

Un groupement international constitué d’une part d’organismes publics : le British Geological Survey (Royaume Uni), IHCantabria (Espagne) et Geological Survey Ireland (Irlande); et d’autre part de sociétés : ARGANS (Royaume Uni) ; isardSAT (Espagne) ; adwäisEO (Luxembourg) ; Arctus (Canada) et IGN FI (France) – piloté par ARGANS (Royaume Uni), a remporté Lire la suite

Le Benin dispose désormais d’une carte nationale à jour

Le Benin dispose désormais d’une carte nationale à jour

En octobre 2014, IGN FI est attributaire d’un marché portant sur la réalisation d’une cartographie numérique de l’ensemble du territoire béninois à l’échelle du 1:50 000. Depuis l’indépendance du pays, à de rares exceptions près, la cartographie du Bénin n’avait en effet pas été mise à jour. Co-financé par l’Union Européenne dans Lire la suite

ETHIOPIE : Formation et assistance technique pour l’EGII

ETHIOPIE : Formation et assistance technique pour l’EGII

IGN FI s’est rendue à Addis pour donner une formation aux équipes de l’EGII (Ethiopian Geospatial Information Institute) sur les apports de la télédétection appliquée aux projets d’occupation du sol. Cette formation s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’accord-cadre de coopération signé entre CNES/ EGII (anciennement EMA, Ethiopian Mapping Agency) et Lire la suite

Trinidad et Tobago: Démarrage officiel du contrat pour le système d’enregistrement foncier

Trinidad et Tobago: Démarrage officiel du contrat pour le système d’enregistrement foncier

Le contrat pour le développement du nouveau logiciel de registre foncier du Registraire général (RGD), le système d’enregistrement foncier (PBRS), a officiellement commencé jeudi 10 janvier 2019, lors d’une réunion organisée par le ministère du Procureur général et des Affaires juridiques. M. Maurice Suite, secrétaire permanent au Cabinet du Premier Lire la suite