Agro-ecological zoning of the territory of guinea

The Guinean Ministry of Agriculture made a request to the French Development Agency for funding to develop agro-ecological zoning at national level, with the aim of identifying and quantifying the current agricultural zones and agricultural potential, and obtaining mapping of land cover and its evolution over a period of 10 years.

The Ministry of Agriculture wishes to be able to use this agro-ecological zoning as a decision-making tool to aid in policy, planning, optimizing agricultural resources, implementing development initiatives and monitoring/evaluation.

The Ministry for the Environment, Water and Forests will also be able to benefit from this data in the context of its international reporting obligations:

  • Biodiversity in the framework of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)
  • Land degradation in the framework of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD)
  • Deforestation and forest degradation in the framework of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)
  • Wetlands in the framework of the Ramsar Convention.

Objectives and deliverables

Setting up agro-ecological zoning forms part of a strategy to enable Guinean land managers to become users of a national land information system whose structural data include a land cover reference database (similar to the European CORINE program CORINE Land Cover database). This database will be built using high resolution satellite images whose revisit intervals allow regular updating, thereby ensuring the accuracy of the information at any given time. This objective, exhaustive and recent information relating to land cover will serve as the base for a large number of environmental applications as well as numerous multi-criteria analyses.

The zoning therefore aims to:

  • Facilitate the establishment, decision-making and direction of development policies in the fields of agriculture, environment and livestock farming
  • Provide a tool which can track, assess and identify potential conflicts of land use, zones which are potentially conducive to agriculture and those which are conducive to hydro-agricultural development
  • Make available and share all the data and applications in the area of agriculture and the environment
  • Assess the evolution of land cover and set up an ecosystem accounting system

Carrying out agro-ecological zoning involves two principal components:

  • Building a land cover database which will track changes: a technology transfer will enable the Guinean teams to work autonomously on building this database. This support will be provided throughout both phases of the project (pilot phase followed by production phase at national level).
  • Developing a number of applications from this database on subjects (agricultural or other) to be decided upon with the Guinean teams in order to demonstrate the effectiveness of the tool in land governance and managing natural resources, thereby encouraging the ministries concerned to develop other applications according to the specific issues with which they are confronted.

Key figures

  • Land cover mapping for 2015 covering 245,000km² (entire country)
  • Tracking evolution over 10 years
  • Involvement of 12 international experts
  • Team of 10 Guinean photo-interpreters
  • Setting up of 4 thematic applications during pilot phase
  • 5 sector ministries involved

2018 / 2020

Land cover, Evolution, Country, Agriculture, Crops, Statistics, Pedology, Slope, Hydrography, Climate, Agricultural potential, Remote Sensing, Sentinel2 satellite, Ecosystem accounting, Biodiversity

Zonage agro-écologique du territoire guinéen

Le Ministère de l’Agriculture guinéen a sollicité l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD) pour financer l’élaboration d’un zonage agro-écologique à l’échelle du pays, visant à identifier et quantifier les zones agricoles actuelles, le potentiel agricole, et obtenir une cartographie de l’occupation du sol et de sa dynamique sur une période de 10 ans.

Le Ministère de l’Agriculture souhaite faire de ce zonage agro-écologique un outil d’aide à la décision pour l’orientation, la planification, l’optimisation des ressources agricoles, la mise en œuvre d’actions de développement et de suivi-évaluation.

Le Ministère de l’Environnement des Eaux et Forêts pourra également bénéficier de ces données dans le cadre de ses obligations de reporting au niveau international :

  • Biodiversité dans le cadre de la convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique (CDB)
  • Dégradation des terres dans le cadre de la convention des Nations Unies pour la lutte contre la désertification (CNULCD)
  • Déforestation et dégradation forestière dans le cadre de la convention-cadre des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC)
  • Zones humides dans le cadre de la Convention de Ramsar.

Objectifs et livrables

La mise en place d’un zonage agro-écologique s’inscrit dans une stratégie visant à faire des gestionnaires du territoire guinéen, les utilisateurs d’un système d’information sur leur territoire, dont une des données structurantes est la base de données de référence d’occupation du sol (à l’instar de la base de données CORINE Land Cover, du programme européen Corine). La constitution de cette dernière s’appuie sur l’utilisation d’images satellites à haute résolution, dont la répétitivité permet des mises à jour régulières, qui conditionnent la pertinence de l’information à tout moment. Cette information sur l’occupation du sol objective, exhaustive et récente servira de base à une multitude d’applications environnementales ainsi qu’à de nombreuses analyses multicritères.

Ce zonage vise donc à :

  • Faciliter la définition, la décision et l’orientation des politiques de développement des différents secteurs agriculture, environnement, élevage
  • Disposer d’un outil de suivi – évaluation et d’identification des potentiels conflits d’usage des sols, des zones potentiellement favorables à l’agriculture, des zones hydro-aménageables
  • Mettre à disposition et partager l’ensemble des données et des applications dans le domaine de l’agriculture et de l’environnement
  • Évaluer les dynamiques de l’occupation du sol et mettre en place un système de comptabilité écosystémique.

La réalisation du zonage agro-écologique comprend deux composantes principales :

  • Constitution de la base de données sur l’occupation du sol et sur le suivi des changements via un transfert de technologie qui rendra autonomes les équipes guinéennes dans la réalisation de cette base de données. Cet accompagnement se fera au long des deux phases du projet (phase pilote puis phase de production à l’échelle nationale).
  • Développement de plusieurs applications de cette base de données sur des thèmes (agricoles ou autres), qui seront déterminées avec les équipes guinéennes, afin de démontrer l’utilité de cet outil dans la gestion de l’espace et des ressources naturelles, et ainsi encourager les ministères concernés à développer d’autres applications en fonction de leurs problèmes spécifiques.

Chiffres clés

  • Couverture cartographique de l’occupation du sol de 2015 sur 245 000 km² (pays en entier)
  • Suivi de la dynamique sur 10 ans
  • Intervention de 12 experts internationaux
  • Équipe de 10 photo-interprètes guinéens
  • Mise en place de 4 applications thématiques en phase pilote
  • 5 Ministères sectoriels impliqués

2018 / 2020

Occupation du sol, Évolution, Territoire, Agriculture, Cultures, Statistiques, Pédologie, Pente, Hydrographie, Climat, Potentiel agricole, Télédétection, Satellite Sentinel2, Comptes écosystémiques, Biodiversité